Cheesy Potato Soup


Yet another non-fancy vegetarian dish but it ranks high on the bad-weather-day-comfort-food scale. Don’t be afraid to experiment with different cheeses and potatoes. You’ll be pleasantly surprised with subtle changes like that.

=======================================================================

4 – 6 medium sized potatoes (diced)
3 cups vegetable broth
3 cloves garlic (minced)
1 cup baby carrots (diced)
¼ cup chives (or scallions) (minced)
2 tbsp butter
¾ cup Old Cheddar cheese (shredded)
¼ cup Asiago cheese (shredded)
¾ cup sour cream
1 cup table cream

Melt butter and cook garlic on medium till softened.

Add carrots and cook till glossy.

Add  broth and potatoes. Bring to a rolling boil on high heat then drop it down to low and let simmer for 20 – 25 mins.

Use immersion blender to puree mixture until smooth.

Add chives, sour cream, and table cream. Mix well.

Add the cheeses and mix till blended.

Serve hot with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkle of chives.

=======================================================================

10 responses

  1. Hippie Cahier

    I’ve been dreaming of this soup for months now. This weekend is soup weather. Yippee!!

    November 6, 2010 at 12:46 pm

  2. hippie cahier

    I somehow missed this…or did I? I was sitting at my desk yesterday and overcome with a longing for cheesy potato soup. I should have you work on the vegetarian luau thing that has disappointed so many visitors to my blog. Your recipes are fab.

    October 2, 2010 at 7:54 am

    • Thank you very much. I’m flattered.

      I try to make good things. The amount of disasters I come up with though would scare you through.

      October 2, 2010 at 11:40 am

  3. I love Cheesy Potato Soup! I’m beginning to think you are my brother and we were separated at birth.

    October 1, 2010 at 2:21 pm

  4. Betty

    Z…I love to cook, but I’ve never heard the term table cream. Is that light cream (or what one would put in their coffee)? I’d like to try this and want to make sure to get it right.

    August 31, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    • Yeah. I’m sorry. Table cream is more of a North American term. It would be light cream or the equivalent. Definitely not heavy cream as that would be far too think (and fattening).

      September 1, 2010 at 12:49 pm

  5. That sounds delicious!

    August 31, 2010 at 10:30 am

    • It is and works so well on those cold, dreary, blah days.

      August 31, 2010 at 11:08 am

  6. Yum again. Now I can’t wait for the autumn weather to start making some soup…

    August 30, 2010 at 5:11 pm

Leave a Reply

