Yes they deserved to die and I hope they burn in hell…


I’m pretty much done with McDonald’s.

I’m not talking about their food. I gave that up a decade and a half ago when their Big Mac’s started making me feel like ass. I’m talking about McDonald’s as a public entity. It just boggles my mind how stereotypically racist their commercial advertising can be and yet no one bats an eyelash to it. Take for example their latest North American promotion for the McDonald’s Zesty Mango Mini.

In it you have a young African American couple sitting at a table having a meal. The young woman is of course blown away with the awesomeness of the mango sauce and makes a low comment about it. Three other young girls (two African American and one appears to be Hispanic) sitting a couple tables behind them hear her comment and proceed to harmonize what she said in acapella. The woman with the mini then makes another comment about the deliciousness of the treat and once again the three young girls transform her statement into an improv American Idol audition. This same wash-rinse-repeat pattern happens another time before the commercial mercifully ends.

So what’s the problem?

The same problem that is always present in McDonald’s commercials… they always depict young black people singing, rapping or dancing the praises of their products like this is some kind of turn of the century blackface vaudeville production. I don’t lie. See for yourself. I’ve put the bug in your head now. Next time you’re hanging out watching the tube, remember what I said when you come across a McDonald’s commercial with a majority of black people in it. 9 times out of 10 they’ll be juking and jiving and doing all the lovely things black people supposedly do whenever in the presence of McDonald’s. It’s kind of ridiculous. Are they really being that blatant with their racist propaganda or is it simply a coincidence that virtually any commercial they put out with any kind of ethnicities in it they have them singing and dancing away. Don’t think it just happens to black people. Asians and Hispanics are clumped into that Dance Dance Revolution stereotype as well. I can’t recall the last time I saw any “hip and trendy” commercial with an Asian in it where he or she wasn’t break dancing or poppin’ n ‘ lockin’.

Its deplorable.

I’m not being Conspiracy Brother on this matter. I don’t make stereotypes in commercials. I just observe them.

5 responses

  1. I haven’t seen this commercial, but if I ever watch a McDonnald’s advert I’ll be looking out for this.

    September 21, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    • I haven’t received any confirmation on the advertising across the pond yet. I’d hope that the marketing departments over there have a bit more class.

      Thanks for stopping by. Cheers!

      September 22, 2010 at 9:19 am

  2. I agree with you 100%. For years, I always noticed that the McDonalds commercials geared towards minorities were … crass, to say the least.

    It helps that I haven’t eaten at a McDonalds in five years. 🙂

    September 20, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    • Cheers! You’ll live a healthier life without McDonocrud coursing through your veins. 😉

      September 20, 2010 at 6:34 pm

  3. Pingback: I Wanna Be Sedated | Massively Attacked

Leave a Reply

