One must forego the self to obtain total spiritual creaminess…


At long last I bring you the final chapter of the Rolf trilogy

Rolf had been making fewer and and fewer appearances as the weather progressively got colder and colder. With our move to Nunavut official now we once again began to doubt whether we’d be able to bring him in to the shelter. One night I was struck with a brilliant idea. I figured we’d go out and get him a collar and attach a note to it. The theory was that if he did have an owner they’d see it and remove it and see the note. I knew Rolf got around a bit so I had to make sure it could last through the rigors of day-to-day Rolf life…


I put tape on both sides of the note to give it a little bit of protection from the elements and wrapped it around the collar. Sure enough a couple of days later Rolf showed up and we fitted him with it and he vanished again into the night after eating his meal. The plan was in motion.

Rolf made guest appearances the following couple of weeks. Each time he’d show up we’d check to see if he still had his collar and if anyone may have removed the note. No luck. Finally this week we came to the decision that we’d invested as much time and effort as possible trying to find out if he had an owner and made a vow that we’d take him down to the Humane Society the next time we saw him. It’d been at least 2 maybe 3 weeks since we put the collar on him so we extended well past the reasonable doubt period.

He ambushed us last night on the way in from grocery shopping. Still no luck with the note so I fed him and told him to stop by tomorrow and we’d take care of him. I went out early today and put his food out as usual. I shook the dish and made sure I made enough noise to draw his attention.

Rolf was a no show.

He ditched me. I was a little disappointed that he didn’t heed my words and conceded to the fact he’d be MIA again for another week or two. So it was business as usual once again. Suzanne and I went out in the afternoon to price some arctic gear and take  care of some errands. Didn’t take too long but we arrived back home only to be greeted by none other than the cat, the myth, the legend known as Rolf! It was later in the day – in other words warmer – so it’s no surprise he was out and about looking for a meal. Suzanne and I looked at each other and said “let’s go”.

We had considered putting him in a carrier but he’s such a lovable guy we kinda knew he’d have no problem in the car. He dug it actually. In fact he handled being cage-free a lot better than our two babies. Yeah he voiced his concern a couple of times but for the most part he was either hanging out on my lap of checking out the sights from every window. It was a short trip to the Kitchener Humane Society so while Suzanne went in to check if there was room and handle the paper work, I hung out in the car and took some parting shots of him…

In the end I feel like we did a good thing for him. It was getting rather cold (like 5c and below the past couple of nights) and he did appear to have some relatively fresh war wounds on one of his ears. I’m sure he had fleas and more than likely had worms. The Humane society will get him checked out and take care of his injuries and aliments before they put him up for adoption. He’s not rabid and I seriously doubt he has any terminal transmutable diseases so he’s in the best hands possible. It’s recommended that if you have a missing pet you go down to the Humane Society or animal shelter first to see if they have been brought in so we did our best for the little guy. He has a roof over his head now and will get the medical treatment he needs finally (and hopefully a nice bath to make him all fluffy and soft). With those eyes and that loving demeanor he’ll get adopted in no time. He’s highly personable.

A part of me is sad that he’s gone now. I’m going to miss his little purrs, the way he’d show unconditional affection and play as though he didn’t have a care in the world. I’ve been questioning myself constantly since we brought him in but deep down inside I know it was for the best. I closed the door to the cat house in a symbolic gesture (but more to prevent any other would be strays from gracing our presence in the coming weeks). It’s sad that I’m far more proactive with taking care of animals than even people. I guess that stems from how genuine animals tend to be. They don’t fake emotions or try to deceive you. What you see is what you get. If only humans could be the same way…

Cheers Rolf! May the Force be with you.

8 responses

  1. Pingback: A Doggie Dot Com Launched | I'll Have Nunavut

  2. Amy

    You totally did the right thing. Rolf will be warm and fed and out of the elements. He was lucky to have found you both!

    October 31, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    • I hope Rolf finds a good home and a mate and produces many Rolfinian children. 😀

      November 1, 2010 at 10:59 am

  3. Ian, love this story. i just had to do the same thing with a little kitty who has been hanging out around our garage and backyard for the past few weeks. now that it’s getting colder, i couldn’t leave it out there. you’re right, they look at you like why are you doing this to me, but it’s really the best thing. rolf chose wisely by choosing your house!

    October 31, 2010 at 12:58 am

    • It’s hard to turn them away when they’re so cute, eh?

      November 1, 2010 at 10:58 am

  4. Aww Rolf…I miss you already buddy! I sure hope you find yourself a nice family to live with. We’d loved to have brought you into ours, but Sophie’s just not having anymore cats. It’s been a good summer with you…happy trails dude…happy trails…

    October 30, 2010 at 5:52 pm

  5. Awww…what a nice story…I think Rolf is lucky to have had you guys for a few weeks!

    Wendy

    October 30, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    • We got a kick out of him and he certainly bonded with us. I just felt sooo bad when they took him because he kind of had that wtf look in his face. I’m sure he’ll be fine once he knows he has a steady food source and a warm place to bed down in.

      October 30, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Leave a Reply

