Who here wants to be an ad-man?


This is probably my shortest blog entry ever but I consider this more of an observational experiment than anything. For those who are regular WordPress blog readers I’m sure you’ve come across this bit of humor. The next time you’re browsing through the Freshly Pressed or looking back at an article of yours that has been pressed, look closely at the comments. Hidden within the responses are those that I’ve deemed the Promowhores (aka shameless self promoters). They’re easy to spot. They always sign their comments with a link to their blog – as if you can’t simply click on the name and get there. While many may be genuinely interested in the content there are some who simply want to ride the coattails of success. They stalk the pressings looking to be the first name on the comments list so they can draw some attention from being at top. I won’t lie. I’ve done that a couple of times in the past when I first started blogging but what makes them shameless and me not is the fact (a) I only commented on posts I actually did have an interest in and (b) I don’t have a link to my bloody blog in my signature! Shameless I tell you. Shameless.

Image courtesy of cartoonchurch.com
13 responses

  1. I’ve noticed people like this. I sometimes leave links to certain blog posts in quotes, but only if it’s related to the post I’ve comented on. I’m not promoting myself, just providing a related link.

    Refferences to past examples:

    Why comment and say why I hate Twilight when I can just show them where to find the full rant? This person doesn’t like 30 Seconds To Mars, they might want to see my little theory.

    November 14, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    • That’s totally fine. It’s the people who have a cheap generic comment followed by their site address that drive me right up a wall.

      November 18, 2010 at 8:49 am

  2. Hippie Cahier

    I can’t believe this post wasn’t Freshly Pressed. 🙂

    I’m not sure whether they fall into this category or not, since I don’t recall seing their links in the comment text, but there are those who reply to every Freshly Pressed I’ve seen (I only read the ones that I think I will be interested in, but they’re always there and always among the first to comment). I’ve still seen them as self-promoting, though, as their replies seem generic. They strike me as bar-flys, and I did feel a little used when they showed up on my FP. I approved their comments anyway, also viewing it as a symbol of my fleeting moment of infamy.

    November 6, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    • Hippie Cahier

      And after I clicked “post comment,” I felt a little self-promoting my own self. Augh.

      November 6, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    • That’s a great description – bar-flies. That’s pretty darn close to how they behave.

      November 8, 2010 at 10:12 am

  3. Oh, no! I’m not first! -_-

    Quick, click here: https://zenassassin.wordpress.com/.

    😛

    November 6, 2010 at 11:40 am

  4. My favorites are the ones that seem like they MUST have been posted by some bot-type program.

    “Hi! I laughed so hard at your blog! I’ve added you to my RSS feed. (random tinyurl link)”

    Wow, really, mk975? You were just sitting there, working at selling gray market human growth hormones and thought this post on the burial rituals of the Hopi Indians was HI-larious?

    November 6, 2010 at 12:58 am

    • That is pretty priceless! Thanks for stopping by. Cheers!

      November 8, 2010 at 10:09 am

  5. Amy

    Yep, I got more than a few of them. Most, however did leave a legit comment and were nice about it.
    I think I’ve only ever plugged my blog in someone else’s comments once and I felt dirty after.

    November 5, 2010 at 11:56 am

    • That’s the best way to describe it – dirty. I felt dirty and shameless. Which makes me wonder how some of these people continue to do it on a daily basis. I guess they’ve become so disconnected that it’s second nature for them now.

      November 5, 2010 at 12:06 pm

  6. What Suzanne said…

    Wendy

    November 5, 2010 at 11:37 am

  7. I have discovered some really great blogs through their comments, but I can spot the promowhores a mile away these days. They typically leave the same comments on every article…

    November 5, 2010 at 11:34 am

Leave a Reply

