You can’t just turn back time.


So I’m a year old today.

Can’t say whether I’m happy or depressed about that. I’m not the kind of person who necessarily celebrates his birthday. I kinda just let it coast by without making too much of a fuss about it. I’ve been in a constant battle with getting old since my teens. I guess I’m sort of like I’m Peter Pan…

Wait. No. Forget I EVER said that. That’s just frightening.

I am just the boy who wouldn’t grow up though. I’m not a fan of that adage about “being only as old as you feel”. My body tells me that I feel like I’m 45 with my achy knees that can predict the weather and constantly sore back. I pop a variety of pills daily and seem to be finding the weight everyone else appears to be losing. I forget more things than I remember and my disdain for the youth of today rivals that of the crankiest old coots. My mind however will never get past the tender age of 18 though. Heck at times I’m sure Suzanne will tell you I act more like a 13yr old more often than not. I pride myself on that though. People get so wrapped up with age and getting older that they cut their lives short prematurely worrying about it. I see it this way, why worry about something you can’t change or affect? Sure you can prolong your life with exercise, healthy eating, vitamins and supplements but in the end you’re going to pass away just like the rest of us. We’re all racing towards the finish line together. I just happen to enjoy jabbing others with my elbow and making faces at them as they go by. Enjoy each day as though it were your last because you never know if it is.

So in celebration of my birthday I took some advice from my blend (aka blog friend… thanks Suze) Christy Miles and decided to make a little Jack Daniel’s inspired label for myself. Cheers!

18 responses

  1. Yeah, I’m a day late, but happy Birthday anyway! Since we share the same year of birth, I won’t consider you an old man yet, especially since my birthday was 2 months ago so I’m older than you.

    Hope your $8 beer and cake was excellent!

    December 7, 2010 at 11:58 am

    • Thanks! I didn’t end up having a beer. I opted for a mixed drink (A cherry coke) and had an awesome cookies ‘n cream cake. I’m a fat happy camper now. πŸ˜€

      December 7, 2010 at 12:38 pm

  2. Happy Birthday and congrats on recognizing that acting your age is very overrated.

    $8 a beer? Can I just mail you some?

    December 6, 2010 at 3:05 pm

    • You could but it’d probably be a couple hundred to ship. lol

      I have no luck either way. Thanks for the well wishes though!

      December 6, 2010 at 3:19 pm

  3. Happy birthday to my fabulous, wonderful and creative husband! Try not to let the terrible twosome get TOO much in your hair today. Later, I will take you out for some beers. Okay…perhaps at $8 a can, I will take you out for two beers. Maybe? Dinner and a movie? πŸ˜‰ Love you…

    December 6, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    • Love you too. πŸ˜‰

      Jets vs. Pats tonight. That’ll be suffice for me.

      December 6, 2010 at 1:15 pm

  4. The Peter Pan picture is disturbing. I LOVE IT!

    December 6, 2010 at 11:09 am

    • A friend of mine on facebook shared that link with me a couple of months ago. I figured I may as well share it with the rest of the world so that everyone could revel in its sheer awesomeness.

      Thanks for popping by. Cheers!

      December 6, 2010 at 11:16 am

  5. Amy

    “Only 28 with 7 years experience”
    Love that!

    Happy Birthday! Act as old as you want. I know plenty of adults who act like complete babies so acting 13 is actually quite mature.

    December 6, 2010 at 10:59 am

  6. LOVE IT!!! happy birthday, keep the creativity coming. πŸ™‚

    December 6, 2010 at 10:29 am

  7. Happy Birthday, Ian (although I’m having a really hard time thinking of a 35-year-old as an “angry old man”)! Just wait until you’re my age, Sonny!

    I hope Suzanne makes you an awesome cake…glad you guys are my “blends” (I like that, Suzanne!).

    Wendy

    P.S. Peter Pan is invisible on my screen (both in Hotmail and on the blog), although your label shows up fine!

    December 6, 2010 at 10:11 am

    • Thanks Wendy. I’m very “weathered’ for my age. I may be just 35 but my odometer is telling me I’m in dire need of a tune up. ;p (Oh yeah… that image should be corrected now. It’s kinda priceless. I can’t not have it working… hehehe)

      December 6, 2010 at 10:37 am

      • Thanks for fixing the image (I think!)…ewww!

        Wendy

        December 6, 2010 at 10:39 am

      • lmao – I knew he’d leave an impression. πŸ˜‰

        December 6, 2010 at 11:05 am

    • Suzanne would like to make Ian an awesome cake, but alas…we are stuck in a “kitchenette” hotel room which equates to a toaster, microwave and bar fridge. A dinner out may have to suffice for now, though even that is getting old since we’re forced to get at least one meal out every day. I can’t wait to have a kitchen again Wendy!

      December 6, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      • Tell me about it. While it’s cool to dine out every now and then this whole every-day-at-a-restaurant thing is running very thin.

        December 6, 2010 at 12:58 pm

      • Sorry…I forgot!

        Wendy

        December 6, 2010 at 1:29 pm

Leave a Reply

