Nothing Like Rehearsal


Okay. This isn’t one of my typical, image laden, highly wordy posts. I usually like to write articles but this is so off the top of my head I figured I’d give it a whirl. In fact this came to me as I was sitting here trying to work.

My wife and I have been emailing back and forth about an issue we’re having with a 3rd party. Our buddy Missy told us from day one to never try to find logic where there is none up here. Foolishly, being a creature of pure logic (mixed with cruel cynicism) I often get worked up when the logic of a situation – or lack there of – fails to process in my head. So as I’m emailing Suzanne I notice I’m writing angrier and angrier. Not at her mind you, just bitching in general.

I decide to take a break and make a tuna salad sammich to get my mind off things. Halfway into constructing my meal I realize that my lips have been moving the whole time and I’ve quite literally been reciting a rant under my breath that I didn’t even know I was reciting. Apparently my brain decided it had enough, set my body on auto-pilot and started penning a rant for later use.

That frightens me.

I know I’m not crazy – or at least that’s what the voices in my head tell me – but wow. Has anyone else ever been so mad that you’ve ranted to yourself as if you’re giving it a test run before you unleash it on your intended target?

4 responses

  1. All the time, Ian…that baby frightens me!

    Wendy

    March 9, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    • Spooked Suzanne too but that was the look I envisioned I had. ;p

      March 9, 2011 at 2:33 pm

  2. Jim

    All the time Zen, dont worry about it, well until your rant turns into an argument with your self and you loose

    March 9, 2011 at 12:22 pm

    • Ah true. I have yet to argue with myself. I generally just sit back and listen. 😀

      Thanks for stopping by!

      March 9, 2011 at 12:37 pm

Leave a Reply

