If you were stranded on a desert island…


So I was watching an old episode of The Office with Suzanne the last week. I’m relatively new to the series because I purposefully never watched it when it first came out because of my extreme bias towards the Americanization of series adaptations the States tend to do. However after constantly hearing about how funny the show was (and knowing pretty much all the cast members from other works) we buckled down and started watching it vigilantly. Still not quite caught up yet fully but we’re getting there.

Anyway… this one episode in particular revolved around the employees hanging out in the parking lot during a fire drill (I believe). Jim decided to play a game called which was aptly titled “If You Were Stranded on a Desert Island What 5 Movies Would You Have”. Yeah I know, the semantics of it baffle even the greatest minds but it got me to thinking about the subject days later. What movies could you tolerate for potentially the rest of your adult life? I gave the topic an undeservedly long amount of thought and finally came up with the following list:

Aliens (1986) – I absolutely love this movie. Even as it celebrates its 25th anniversary this year (wow…25th… holy crap I’m feeling pretty ancient now) I still rank this flick high in my all-time movie list. Hell I’ve dissected this movie so much that I can probably turn off the volume and give a voice-by-voice and sound-by-sound performance of epic geek proportions. Ask Suzanne. I’ve pissed her off more than once by reciting entire scenes under my breath. I don’t know what it is about Aliens though. Alien was (and still is) an awesome space horror movie but the sequel took the franchise in a whole new direction. The super macho attitude shown at the beginning of the movie quickly turns into stir fried panic by the end. Sigourney polarized everything with her iconic portrayal of Ellen Ripley. She became the poster child for girl power in the 80’s but her character was so much more than just that. It showed millions of movie fans that it’s just not wise to piss a lady off.

Se7en (1995) – Ahh… how can someone not like this movie? Whenever it comes on TV I find myself mindlessly watching it without realizing it. It’s by far one of the best horror movies to date. I can say that without hesitation. It’s one of those rare movies that understood what it takes to make a good suspense ridden thriller. Se7en showed just enough disturbing content to get its point across and nothing more. They left the brunt of it up to the audience to imagine and that’s what set it apart from the rest. An intelligent movie for an intelligent audience. Plus it had the magical black man Morgan Freeman, the super brooding Brad Pitt and the King of Creepy Kevin Spacey. What more could you ask for?

Airplane! (1980) – If I had to be stuck with one comedy for the rest of my life, it’d have to be Airplane. I don’t know what it is about this movie but it’s got a direct line to my funny bone. Sure many of the jokes are outdated but it still slays me after all these years. I remember seeing this movie when I was as young as 7 or 8 and I got it then. While there are tons of comedies out there I can and have watched a dozen times over, this is one that I don’t think twice about watching. If it’s on I watch it. Surely I can’t be serious when I say I watch it every time, right? Of course I am… and don’t call me Shirley.

Scrooged (1988) – This is a surprise to me as well. It’s a Christmas movie. I generally can’t stand Christmas movies with their toothache sweet repetitive storylines told over and over again. However this is a Christmas movie with Bill Fucking Murray (Sorry for the profanity. I had a Tallahassee moment there). Bill has cracked me up for ages and while Ghostbusters could have easily fit in this spot I figured my beloved wife would have that on her list at #1 so if we’re stranded together I’m good to go. Anyways, this movie boggles me as much as the others with my mindless attraction to it. I start avoiding everything Christmas related the moment I walk into a store and start hearing the annoying jingles scratching at my ear drums. Somehow though I always manage to watch this movie. It’s never on purpose. It’s just on and I end up being sucked into it. I can honestly say I’ve watched this flick faithfully for the past 20 years straight every Christmas. I know… sad, right? But it’s BILL FUCKING MURRAY!

The Terminator (1984) – Why is it actors have their best roles when they play a bad guy? Sure the “terminator” character got miraculously transformed into a “good guy” in later movies but there was no denying that the Governator was an absolute bad ass in The Terminator. In fact he set the standard for bad ass in the first 20 minutes when he walked up butt-naked and put his fist through someone’s chest. Like all the others on this list I’ve seen this movie more times than I even care to admit and yet I never get tired of it. While there are times I’ll turn it off when it’s on TV in favor of something else there are still bizarre instances where I find myself watching the movie from beginning to end without realizing it.

You end up finding a lot about a person by the choices they make in this exercise. Me… I’m about as transparent as a Windexed window when it comes to mine. It’s no secret that 4 of my 5 choices are pre-1990. I’m a child of the 80’s and that’s where my heart lies. Even though I spent my tumultuous teens in the 90’s the Decade of Decadence left a lasting impression on my young mind.

I’m actually profoundly intrigued to find out the picks of the warped minds who actually come by and regularly visit my funky little blog so please, by all means, share your choices and be judged by your peers. >:D

12 responses

  1. Hmmm…this is a hard question, Ian…

    Here’s my list:

    Milo and Otis
    Benny and Joon
    When Harry Met Sally
    Ghost
    To Kill a Mockingbird

    Wendy

    April 13, 2011 at 10:00 am

    • Ahhh Ghost. I dig that movie. I just don’t let anyone know that lest they see my soft fuzzy side which is so un-dudely. 😉

      April 13, 2011 at 10:26 am

  2. 1 – Local Hero – a great, very subtle comedy around the adventures of an oilman trying to buy a small town in Scotland.

    2 – Repo Man – A scientist smuggles an alien out of a government facility. The car he is traveling in is put out with a large bounty on a reposession computer. Funny movie and comment on the ’80’s punk scene.

    3. – Field of Dreams – my favorite baseball movie, because Redford swings the bat like an actor in The Natural

    4 – Holy Grail – seems to be a popular island choice

    5 – The Big Lebowski –

    April 12, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    • Interesting picks. I’m going to have to check out your first two (especially #2).

      April 13, 2011 at 12:42 am

  3. Chris

    No zombie movies??? British humour an acquired taste?? (ok I may have an advantage there…)

    Hmmmmm

    In no particular order –

    Empire Strikes Back
    A Matter of Life & Death
    This is Spinal Tap
    The Seventh Seal
    Kick Ass

    April 12, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    • I know! I knew someone was going to call me on that one.

      I’m assuming you mean original cut Empire right?

      April 12, 2011 at 9:46 pm

      • Chris

        Oh dear god yes fella, defo the original cut not the subsequent fiddlings and faffings Lucas likes to make and definitely not the evil 3D version.

        So Zombie fims? I assume there was one just squeezed out of the top 5?

        April 13, 2011 at 4:16 am

      • For sure. It would have to be the original Dawn of the Dead without a doubt. It would have made the top 5 if I’d seen it more. Mind you I’ve seen it at least 20 or so times already but cable never seems to want to play it (unlike the above movies).

        April 13, 2011 at 10:24 am

  4. Amy

    Awesome list! I would be very happy if I had all your choices with me on that island (one if my dogs is named Ripley, ya know). But, I’ll try to pick movies that aren’t on your list.

    #1 Without a doubt, Raising Arizona would have to be with me. I own it on VHS and DVD. I love this movie like a fat kid loves cake. It’s pretty much perfect.

    #2 Reservoir Dogs: I dressed as Mr. Orange one year for Halloween. No one knew what my costume was (black suit, white shirt entirely covered in blood), but I didn’t care. Steve Buscemi is one of my favorite actors, too

    #3 Die Hard: This movie is just pure awesome. Nuff said. Plus, Alan Rickman is another one of my faves.

    #4 True Romance: Cause I’m a girl, I would want one romantic movie. Because I’m weird, this is the romantic movie I’d pick.

    #5 Monty Python and the Holy Grail: I just don’t think I could ever get tired of watching this movie. It’s like Airplane!, I just laugh every time I see it.

    Some movies I thought about, but then realized that I liked the soundtrack more than the actual movie. That may be another interesting list in the making . . .

    April 12, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    • We’ll totally have to be stranded together just for the Holy Grail alone. British comedy is such an acquired taste but when you get it you’re addicted.

      April 12, 2011 at 3:25 pm

  5. Great list of movies. I still do not watch The Office. Ok, so shoot me. 🙂 Se7en is one of my faves and I just had the kids watch Scrooged this past Christmas. They LOVED it!

    April 12, 2011 at 2:31 pm

  6. I find it absolutely hilarious that four of these movies we still don’t even own, and the last, we only JUST purchased at the end of last year.

    Hmm…I may have to muse on this for a bit and create my own post. But yeah…Ghostbusters is SO on there. Sometimes I wonder if I should include things like that or Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, since technically I could re-enact them, and we could use the slots for movies we DON’T know by heart.

    April 12, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Leave a Reply

