Freshly Sketched: The Ogre


“I’m an OGRE! You know, ‘grab your torch and pitchforks!’ Doesn’t that bother you? “
~Shrek

I remember a while back I promised that I would draw more often because web design has all but eradicated my ability to free-hand anymore. So what better way to launch my latest Art? category then to debut my new Freshly Sketched posts. I have no way of knowing how many pieces will show up over the course of time but whenever I produce one worthy of showing the world, it’ll be Freshly Sketched. In time I may work on it further and put out a rendered version of the sketch in my Mental Wasteland (like I’ve done with others) but I’m not committing to anything yet. if inspiration carries me away then keep checking there. You never know what may show up. I figure this is a good way to get me posting once again considering the wellsping of my mind dried up weeks ago with regards to writing.

Anyway over the past couple of weeks I managed to carve out some time for myself to refresh my sketching skills. What does one draw when they haven’t put pencil to paper in ages?

An ogre of course.

I know. Not really a classic representation of artistic aesthetics like a bowl of fruit or portrait of someone but I have to go back to my roots. I’m in no way a classically trained artist so why should I draw something classic? I have a rich history in redundant movie knowledge, comic books, role-playing games, and digital erotica. Yeah.. that’s right. I was commissioned to do dozens of digital dark erotica postcard-like pictures in the late 90’s for a website called darksites.com. The site has changed its direction over the years so they don’t carry the work I did anymore (since they’re more or less a link store now) but who knows, maybe one day I’ll enlighten you all with a peek back into the past.

So back to why I decided to go with the ogre as my return sketch…

I always found inspiration in role-playing games. The level of creativity involved in both book-n-dice and video game RPGs boggles the mind. The stories, characters and mythologies are so complex and detailed that you can’t help but get inspired. For anyone who can’t comprehend that concept I challenge you to read a gamemaster book from any RPG system. Any gamemaster book. Read it like you would any other book. If you’re still biased about gamers and the whole RPG sub culture then screw you. I cast a cone of silence on you and banish you from my blog. ;p

When I think of an ogre – which thankfully doesn’t happen often but the fact that it does happen still worries me – I don’t think of Shrek. I imagine them to be closer to homo sapiens than not… a sort of missing link between the apes and humans. I imagine large, brutish creatures with thick brows, broad chested, powerful limbs and hairy as hell. I present to you my non-Shrek Ogre vision…

Ogre

8 responses

  1. Damn, Ian…for somebody who claims not to be “classically-trained”, your grasp of how the human body looks is amazing! I am in awe…

    Wendy

    May 12, 2011 at 8:56 am

    • Thanks Wendy! Although I’m not classically trained I did (and still do) tons of homework on anatomy so I guess you can say I’m self-taught.

      May 12, 2011 at 10:40 am

  2. I wish I had even the slightest bit of artistic talent. But me, I have to draw the lines at stick figures.

    Nice pic!

    May 12, 2011 at 7:26 am

    • Don’t be ashamed of stick figures. Here’s proof positive stick figures can be cool –

      May 12, 2011 at 10:38 am

  3. Proof you’ve been sippin the awesome sauce! Nuff said…carry on.

    May 11, 2011 at 6:14 pm

  4. Amy

    You’re awesome.
    That’s all.

    May 11, 2011 at 5:04 pm

Leave a Reply

