Freshly Sketched: The Vampiric Elven Blood Mage & Self-Mutilated Dwarven Berserker


“Are you afraid of dragons? “
~Valerian: Dragonslayer (1981)

I’m debuting a new category yet again today and decided to pair it up with my recently inaugurated Art? section. I decided to ease into this new and harsh realm slowly like an old man into a warm bath. The Geek Zone is all about celebrating geekiness and geekdom. This category’s subject matter will vary from time to time and is reserved for common knowledge geekiness within said topic range. If you are unfamiliar with a particular topic you have two choices: start doing some homework or avoid it all costs. I spend far too much time educating the masses in all my other posts to do that here. This is a place where geeks can roam free and mingle amongst the herd. If you are faint of heart in the face of supreme nerdiness or easily flustered by knowledge and references that are beyond your scope, the Geek Zone is not for you.

Those who stumble upon the vast reaches of my nerdiness beware, it is a path not easily tread upon. I’m not a total meanie. I’ll point you in the right direction sometimes but for the most part you have to figure the particulars out yourself. If you’re truly interested you’ll find out more. If not, then no loss either way. I’ve combined this with some Freshly Sketched artwork so that even if you don’t know what’s being mentioned you can look at the (un)pretty pictures. It’s my way of getting back at the world for making me a Professional Dumbass. At least you were warned, right? Those prolific in the Geek Topic of the Day should have no trouble following along.

Today’s Topic – Dragon Age Role Playing Game

Source: Wikipedia

Suzanne and I have cracked out on this series to the point of actually purchasing the RPG. I love the stories and culture of the game. Draws a lot of comparisons to real life but with a dark and sometimes humorous twist. After reading through the Players Guide (because Suzanne has forbidden me to read the GM Guide because she wants to run her first campaign) I got hit with massive inspiration to draw some characters. I’ve probably run through Dragon Age: Origins a dozen times and Dragon Age 2 about 4 or 5 times now but the books actually shed more light on the world of Dragon Age than anything else and opened up the floodgates. It took me back to the good ole’ highschool days when some buddies and I would commandeer a spot in the local pizza shop for hours gaming.

The geek runs strong in my family. My father had it. I have it. My friends have it… and my wife has it.

Anyway the first vision to pop into my head was Marilyn Manson. I know… not the first thought any sane person should have pop into their head but who ever said I’m sane? Just awesome. Manson is iconic in the RPG scene. Back when I was playing Vampire: The Masquerade I had him pegged as a Malkavian hands down. I dig the show he makes of himself. He’s an incredible concept – art & character wise – so whenever a twisted drawing comes to mind, he’s usually at the forefront of my mind as a template. In the Dragon Age world blood mages are about as twisted and malicious as you get.  So I decided to marry the ideas of a vampires, blood mages, and Marilyn Manson into this…

Vampiric Elven Blood mage

My second concept came in the form of a dwarf. Everyone always falls in loves with writing about and drawing elves and humans but dwarves are always the odd man out cuz they’re short, angry and hairy. I decided to present a battle dwarf in a whole new light. Berserkers thrive on pain and violence. What better way to feed off pain than to have it self-inflicted constantly? So I decided to create a female dwarf built like the WWE’s Beth Phoenix but wrap her arms and legs in barbed wire. Nothing like having that persistent searing pain of razor-sharp wires to stir up some real emotions, eh?

Self-Mutilated Dwarven Berserker

3 responses

  1. I still think the vampiric blood mage would be a hell of a Halloween costume…all those belts and buckles…

    May 14, 2011 at 11:35 am

  2. I’m not the game player in the family…but I really liked the art and the female dwarf concept…(-:

    May 12, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    • Thank you very much! It always makes me feel good to draw new people in with my artwork (no pun intended…hehe)

      May 12, 2011 at 2:35 pm

Leave a Reply

