A gift from a stranger


Okay. Stop with the perverted stalker connotations. Yeah yeah, I know this is the one-stop-shop for depravity and reckless thought but this is a perfectly innocent post. In fact it relates directly to one I made the other day about a little girl I’ve never even met.

Wait. That doesn’t sound right either…

Seriously though this goes back to the gutsy tale of the little girl known as (12). If you’re unfamiliar with Act I please go and catch up with the times. Those of you who are up to date I shall continue on with the story…

Poor little (12) went back to the doctor the other day to continue with her infusions. The week before was rough for her so the 4 day break was much-needed. Unfortunately her return was marred with a series of unfortunate events (the likes of which I will not go into detail here because I may pass out).  She toughed it out though and somehow manages to keep on plowing her way through whatever obstacle si in front of her. I was tipped off to an amazing scoop the not too long ago though. Apparently young Miss (12) has a birthday coming up soon.  Yes, the darling little (12) will officially join the ranks of teenage fiefdom.  I’m not a religious man but I pray for Thypolar and hope (12) never finds the angst button.

Anyway this revelation put even more pressure on me to complete the digital rendering I promised her. There is a goal in sight and it prompted me to work tirelessly in the wee hours of the morning to get it done. I am determined to get the sketch and the high-resolution digital image out to her in time for her birthday. It still feels weird sending a gift to someone I’ve never physically met. I don’t quite consider myself a stranger though. I have a picture of her and her two brothers on my fridge.

Wait… that sounds really bad now…

Her mother gave us a Christmas picture of her family ya lunatics! I may have to ask you to leave if you keep up with these perverted thoughts!

So tomorrow I will head to the Post Office and once again place the fate of a surprise birthday gift in the hands of Canada Post and the US Postal Service…

…God help us all…

Oh yeah… I suppose you want a sneak preview. I suppose I can do that…

To be continued….

8 responses

  1. Jim

    You have done a fantastic job there Zen. Anyone would love to own a print if this calibre, especially a first edution.

    You should put your work out there as a free lance artist for books and the like.

    May 27, 2011 at 3:20 am

    • Thanks Jim.

      I’ve actually freelanced for quite some time now. Although I almost exclusively do web design now I used to do lots of comissioned work. Unfortunately most of it was for average Joes who had the cash to pay me. I would have loved to work for a comic company but Marvel damaged my psyche at a young age. I blame them for my self doubt issues. ;p

      May 27, 2011 at 4:44 am

  2. Amy

    Completely beautiful, Ian! She will love it!

    May 26, 2011 at 6:47 pm

  3. Its absolutely beautiful Ian. I can’t thank you enough for doing this for her. She is going to love it! I’m so excited 🙂 I can’t wait for it to get here!!

    May 26, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    • CD burned. Package wrapped and labeled. Off to the post office tomorrow after my shelter shift.

      May 26, 2011 at 7:19 pm

  4. Love it, Ian…maybe you and Suzanne should collaborate on a children’s book!

    I really hope the Post Office doesn’t strike…

    Wendy

    May 26, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    • They better not strike. You can’t strike if you’re incompetent. I’m sure that’s a rule somewhere.

      May 26, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Leave a Reply

