4 Things I’ve learned about blogging from blogging


Yes I read my own blog sometimes. It’s not because I’m so in love with myself that I have to experience my own awesomeness a second time around. And no it’s not because I’m incredibly bored and have nothing to do. It’s not like I read everything. Sometimes when I’m doing pingbacks or editing old posts I sit there and go over what I’ve written. I remember things about as well as Dory does so sometimes I need to refresh my memory about what I’ve already written about. So for the sake of getting more thought garbage out I decided to summarize my blogging experience thus far.

It’s just another persona
Argue as much as you want, a blog is not mirror image of your persona. It’s just yet another extension of your personality.  A blog can be a very close reflection or a wildly contrasting side of your true self. It’s all about what you want to get out of it.  I started blogging to clear my mind of excess clutter but it’s mutated into something more. I have a very warped train of thought and twisted sense of humour that apparently appeals to some. I am an entertainer. I’ve always been that way. The joke maker. The proverbial life of the party. I enjoy entertaining on multiple levels but I still very much write for myself. The twist is that I try to make what I talk about somewhat appealing to the masses. There are those who know me like a book and those who stumble upon this wasteland. From the outside looking in I come off as an egomaniacal, super geek with a heart of gold who needs his mouth washed out with soap. Some people drink that in and take it for what its worth. Those who have the luxury of being able to match the truth against the show are awarded a much more enjoyable reading experience.

I don’t subscribe to your reality
Just because I don’t subscribe to blogs doesn’t mean I don’t read them regularly. I’m sorry. I just don’t subscribe to many blogs and even when I do I turn off all the notifications. I don’t like being told when I should read. I read when I want to at my own pace. My place of honor lies in the blogroll. I don’t just dump anyone there all willy nilly. People on that VIP list have earned their spots there. If I haven’t been to your blog more than 3 times you don’t get listed. In the world of the Zen Assassin the authors found on the roll are people I respect and follow religiously. I spread their words to weary travellers who happen upon my blog through that prestigious link.  It’s my way of paying homage to them. That it why they are referred to as The Worthy. So don’t get offended if I don’t click a subscribe button. Get offended if you’re not on the Guest List.  *nyuk nyuk*

Not everyone is a douche
I feared blogging for a long time. It reeked of pretentiousness. Admit it. If you’ve never blogged before and someone tells you “hey check out my blog” you cringe in disgust and think to yourself you pretentious little motherf*cker. I openly admit that was my mindset prior to getting involved. After all just about anyone can be a food or movie critic because they have a blog, right? However since entering this strange and addictive world I’ve come to understand that the egotistical, self-serving, c*cksmoking attention mongers are in fact the minority. The vast majority of bloggers are just decent everyday Joes and Janes with something to say. Unlike Facebook and Twitter where it’s a competition to see who can have the most grammatically flawed tweet or wittiest status message bloggers tend to have one inescapable commonality – they like to write for the sake of writing. Sure some have diatribes of rambling nonsense *ahem* but in a world as large as ours there’s something for everyone out there. I’ve met some pretty extraordinary people during my stint here and absolutely regret not diving in sooner.

Commenting here will make you a God-hating atheist, give you the clap, cause pain, suffering, instant death and send you straight to Hell
… or at least that seems to be the stigma attached to my blog. No one comments. I for the life of me can’t figure out why. I haven’t placed the impaled bodies of those who have commented in the past on my doorstep. I love comments. It lets me know I’m just not talking to myself as usual. I have a very loyal following of really eccentric and utterly intriguing individuals who almost always leave a comment. They’re the ones who actually keep me writing more often than not and I thank them wholeheartedly for that. I admit, I don’t comment on everything I read either but I do when it’s something I appeciate. Every blogger goes though the “is anyone even listening” phase. When you have a fountain of unconventional sanity like you find here, sometimes people choose to observe from a safe distance. Have no fear though. I don’t bite…

…unless you let me.

16 responses

  1. So I Was just going to “like” this post, but since you called for comments … I’m commenting instead.

    Hey, I liked this post.

    🙂

    June 13, 2011 at 1:56 pm

  2. I’m glad I’m one of “The Worthy” ones…thank you, Sir!

    I was pleasantly surprised at the lovely people I’ve met through blogging…I had the same flawed impression as you did before I got into it. There are still blogs out there which have tons of comments which I think are huge piles of drivel…

    Wendy

    P.S. This comment is black on black again…it’s a good thing I type well, because I can’t see the typos!

    June 12, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    • You’re more than worthy Wendy. 😀

      try sending WP tech support a message about the commenting issues. It seems to coincide with when they put in the whole inter-linking with facebook and twitter so it may be a glitch. Just explain to them exactly what you’re experiencing and they’ll see if they can replicate it. It’sa not uncommon for an upgrade to go through some bugs.

      June 12, 2011 at 10:28 pm

  3. *sigh* yeah, I’m one of the sorry-ass ones that forgets to comment. It’s weird, I think the replies out in my brain and then hit the teeny red x at the corner of my screen instead. Pinky swear to comment more, I think I was just in too much shock at the eternally gruff Ian doing something so non-douchey as what you did for (12). I hope ThyPolar shares the pics of her reaction.

    June 9, 2011 at 10:17 am

    • I know right? Think of it this way, my blog would be lame if you knew what to expect all the time, right?

      June 9, 2011 at 10:35 am

  4. Amy

    Whoo, hoo! I made the cut!
    Oh, sorry. Forgot this wasn’t all about me for a sec.
    Those are all very astute observations about blogging. Especially, “Not everyone is a douche.” I was terrified of commenting on other people’s blogs forever because I really thought they’d reply back with “Who the hell are you? Why is your sorry arse commenting on my sacred blog?” (because everyone in blogland is British and says “arse”) I got over it, obviously, and I am so glad that I did. Otherwise, I never would have connected with awesome people such as yourself. (see, I made it about you in the end)

    June 9, 2011 at 9:56 am

  5. No comment…

    June 9, 2011 at 8:49 am

  6. I can comment without getting the clap. PHEW! I’m breathing a huge sigh of relief over here.

    Hilarious!

    June 9, 2011 at 7:50 am

    • Always use protection when you’re online. That’s my motto. It’s not a really good motto but seems to work. ;p

      June 9, 2011 at 10:29 am

  7. I keep commenting in hopes of being put out of my misery but somehow, someway I am spared.

    The agony.

    I think every blogger has felt these things, for the most part. I was extremely reluctant when it came to blogging and had the same thoughts about it that you did. I’m glad I finally got over myself and started writing.

    June 8, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    • And now you’re an uber-blogging goddess. Amazing how things turn out, eh?

      June 9, 2011 at 12:07 am

  8. Jim

    oh no, I left a comment, I’m going to die a slow and painful death. Oh what the hell.

    A most excellent post Mr. Assassin, think you have pit the thoughts of many a Blogger in words with this one.

    I approve.

    June 8, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    • Thank you kind sir. I’m glad I wasn’t shooting in the dark on this one.

      June 9, 2011 at 12:06 am

Leave a Reply

