No one cared who I was until I put on the mask


So it’s been a while since I posted anything. I warned people about this when I first started doing this. I’m not a blogger. I write a blog whenever I feel the urge to. Anyway so much to say, so little time. It’s been an interesting year to say the least. Lots of ups and downs – more so for my beloved wife than myself – but it’s been a rollercoaster nonetheless. Did some shit. Ate some shit. Lost some weight. Got sick for the first time in years. Manned the weapons console of a starship. Made more friends. Lost a couple to the cruelness of life. Made some enemies as well. Drove a skidoo without crashing. Rode down Canada’s longest zip line. You know another day, another adventure… good or bad. That’s how life goes. Never a dull moment.

It’s no coincidence I chose today to return to the wonderful world of the blogosphere. It’s early December which means I am supposedly supposed to celebrate my aging another year. I don’t believe in that. As I sit here listening to Jim Morrison lament about being lost in Roman wilderness of pain I celebrate surviving another year on this twisted and confusing planet. I’m still perplexed as to what I did to get sentenced to a life term here but be rest assured I’m going to keep filing my appeals to the Galactic Council.

I jest though. My life is no better or worse than the next person. Everybody deals with their own bag of drama and everyone views own their trials and tribulations as being more significant than another. Walk a mile in their shoes and what not. I spend my Nameday (and the days before and after) reflecting on my own awesomeness. I know. Some think I have a catastrophic ego problem but hear me out first before you judge. I always pontificate about my own awesomeness but there is sound reasoning behind it.

I firmly believe the only way to achieve true awesomeness is to envelop oneself with it. Drape yourself in it like velvet. Awesomeness doesn’t simply manifest from nothingness. You need to strategically and categorically place awesomeness all around you and inevitably it permeates right into you. I’m fortunate enough to have awesome in all of its forms surrounding me at all times. I have a mother and father who are always there for me. Family that hasn’t seen me in over a decade yet love me the same nonetheless. Friends who are blood to me and continue to amaze me each and every day. Two of the most annoying fur monsters in the world that I would utterly be lost without and of course, without question, the greatest friend/confidant/lover/competitor/motivator/inspiration/counselor a slightly deranged man could ever have in the form of my dear wife Suzanne.

How can I not proclaim awesomeness when I’m surrounded by so much of it?

I am what I am because of who I associate with. When I say I’m awesome, it’s a compliment to all of you who have been there and continue you to be there through thick and thin. As I celebrate my 9th annual 28th birthday I say thank you to everyone who is in my life. This is one of the rare times you’ll find me this humble so revel in it. The apocalypse is only a couple weeks away and I gots to get back into hardcore uber-cynical sarcastic mode.

After all, they were spot on about Y2k right so we gotta get ready?

Cheers folks.

Till next time!

That. Just. Happened.

That. Just. Happened.

11 responses

  1. Glad to see you back and WHAT!!?? You have a life outside of blogging?

    Whether you want it or not congrats on your birthday! I like to celebrate every year I have left. I agree, you ARE awesome and so am I…(-:

    Sherry

    December 10, 2012 at 8:18 am

  2. Aren’t you that guy, the awesome one?

    December 7, 2012 at 7:46 pm

  3. Ahh, there he is! Nice to see a post, though I understand the reasons not to. Life happens!

    December 7, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    • Hopefully I can get back to my posting ways of old. I’ve actually gotten much more demented over the past year. lol

      December 8, 2012 at 12:32 pm

  4. D’awwww. And yes, this is incredibly humble of you. Now get back to being awesome so we can prepare for your night out tonight.

    Happy birthday and I love you, you crazy man!

    December 6, 2012 at 2:09 pm

  5. Yay! Good to see a post from you! 🙂

    Glad to hear you’re still hangin in there. You have yourself an awesome Nameday (like that!) and a terrific holiday season!

    *smooches*

    December 6, 2012 at 11:30 am

  6. Woo-hoo! A post!

    December 6, 2012 at 9:45 am

    • I’m back from the dead.

      Okay… not quite dead but back sorta. 😉

      December 6, 2012 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

